Skip to Content
City of Franklin Wisconsin
Main Content

Property Taxes

Lottery and Gaming Credit Online Application Portal
Online forms are replacing all PDF Lottery and Gaming Credit forms.
See more information below pertaining to this topic.



Lottery and Gaming Credit Applications - Available Online

Online forms are replacing all PDF Lottery and Gaming Credit forms. Benefits of the e-filing system include:

  • Property owners file for the Lottery and Gaming Credit completely online – through MyDORGov's public-facing portal.
  • System guides property owners to the correct form through a selection page.
  • Forms provide completion guidance through help bubbles.
  • Data from the form is shared electronically with county and municipal treasurers.
  • As DOR transitions from PDF forms to this new e-file format, the WI Lottery and Gaming Credit Application and Removal Request Form will still be available as PDFs on the Department of Revenue website for 2024.  

When are tax bills mailed?

As soon after December 1st that the information from the other taxing districts is received and processed, the tax bills can be produced and mailed.  The City's goal is to have the tax bills in the mail by early in the second full week of December.  Once the property tax bills have been produced, they are also available via the City's Property Tax Web Portal.  

What makes up my tax bill? 

The City of Franklin represents only a portion of each property tax bill, but the City, by statute, has the responsibility to receive tax levy requests from each taxing jurisdiction and send out a combined property tax bill to its citizens. The taxing jurisdictions that levy taxes on all Franklin citizens are Milwaukee County, City of Franklin, Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewerage District (MMSD), and Milwaukee Area Technical College (MATC).  Other governmental bodies that can levy taxes on some of Franklin citizens are the Franklin School District, Oak Creek-Franklin Joint School District, and Whitnall School District.

What are the additional charges on my tax bill? 

Tax bills may contain other charges such as solid waste, annual payments of outstanding special assessments, delinquent sewer and water bills as of November 15, and other unpaid miscellaneous bills outstanding at that time. 

What are the credits on my tax bill?  

A lottery credit is provided by the State for qualifying citizens for their personal residence only.  All taxable property with improvements will receive a “First Dollar Credit” based on the equalized value of the school tax rate.  Amounts vary by school district.

How are my taxes calculated? 

The approved tax levies from all of the taxing jurisdictions are divided by the assessed valuation, certified by the Board of Review, to determine the tax rates. Franklin has multiple school districts; therefore, there are three different tax rates that may apply to a citizen’s tax bill. If you compare your tax bill to another, make sure the tax bills have the same taxing bodies before you call to check on your bill.

What are the current tax rates?

View tax rate information.   

What if I do not receive my tax bill? 

Please note that tax bills are sent to the property owner of record. For properties that have been recently purchased in the August—November time period, the City may not have received the transfer information from Milwaukee County and those tax bills will be sent to the seller.  You can view/print your property tax bill information via the City's Property Tax Web Portal, request the bill from the seller, or contact the Treasury Office at 425-4770 to get the necessary property tax information.

When are tax bill payments due and accepted?

Tax bill payments are due either in full by January 31st or in installments with 50% due January 31st, 25% due March 31st, and 25% due on May 31st.  Tax bill payments are accepted as soon as tax bills are available in December and until July 31st of the following year.

Property Taxes
Payment Hours:

M-F, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.


Finance & Treasury Offices
9229 W. Loomis Road
Franklin, WI  53132

Finance Phone:
Finance Fax:
Hours: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Treasury Phone:
Treasury Fax:
Hours: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Danielle Brown,
Director of Finance & Treasurer
Rosanne Zimmerman,
Deputy Treasurer

Tom Bakalarski,
Accounting Supervisor


Related Links

Finance Committee