Library Board

The Library Board consists of 9 members, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Common Council.  Each appointment term is for 3 years from July 1 in the year of appointment.  The Mayor appoints as one of the members 1 school administrator or his or her representative to represent the Public School District, and 1 member of the Common Council.

No compensation is paid to any Board members for their service, but they may be reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses incurred in performing their duties outside the City, if so authorized by the Board.

Powers and Duties: 

The Library Board has the powers and duties as prescribed under §43.58, Wis. Stats., some of which include:

  • Exclusive control of the expenditure of all moneys collected, donated, or appropriated for the Library fund, and of the purchase of a site and the erection of the Library building whenever authorized.

  • Audits and approves all vouchers for the expenditures of the Public Library and forwards the vouchers or schedules covering the same.

  • Supervises the administration of the Public Library and appoints a Librarian, who appoints such other assistants and employees as the Library Board deems necessary, and prescribes their duties and compensations.

  • Receives, manages, and disposes of gifts and donations.

  • Within 60 days after the conclusion of the fiscal year, the Library Board prepares a report to its governing body.  The report states the condition of the Library Board's trust and the various sums of money received for the use of the Public Library during the year, the condition of the permanent trust funds in the Library Board's control, the disbursements on account of the Public Library during the fiscal year, and shall contain an estimate of the needs of the Public Library for the next succeeding fiscal year. 




Alderwoman Kristen Wilhelm 3 Years/4-16-19
Robert Donohoo 3 Years/6-30-19
Judith Williams-Killackey 3 Years/6-30-19
Thomas Loew 3 Years/6-30-18
Karen Wesener 3 Years/6-30-19
Michael Karolewicz 3 Years/6-30-18
Terrence Berres 3 Years/6-30-19
Annemarie Vitas-Oklobdzija 3 Years/6-30-20
Timothy Solomon 3 Years/6-30-17
Staff Support: Jennifer Loeffel, Library Director  

Meeting Date: 4th Monday of the Month

Meeting Time: 6 p.m.

Meeting Location:
Sievert Room
Franklin Public Library
9151 W. Loomis Road

Please direct agenda questions to:
Jennifer Loeffel, Library Director


2017 & 2018 Meeting Dates 

2018 Dates:    
January 22 Agenda Minutes
February 26 Agenda Minutes
March 26 Agenda Minutes
April 23 Agenda Minutes
2017 Dates:    
January 23 Agenda Minutes
February 20 (3rd Monday) Agenda Minutes
March 27 Agenda Minutes
April 24 Agenda Minutes
May 22 Agenda Minutes
June 26 Agenda Minutes
July 17 (Special) Agenda Minutes
July 24 Agenda Minutes
July 31 (Special) Agenda Minutes
August 28 Agenda Minutes
Aug. 29 (Dir. Search Mtg) Agenda Minutes
Sept. 9 (Dir. Search Mtg) Agenda Minutes
Sept. 12 (Dir. Search Mtg) Agenda Minutes
Sept. 19 (Dir. Search Mtg) Agenda Minutes
September 25 Agenda Minutes
Oct. 3 (Dir. Search Mtg) Agenda Minutes
Oct. 3 (Special) Agenda Minutes
October 23 Agenda Minutes
Nov. 2 (Personnel) Agenda Minutes
November 27 Agenda Minutes
December 18 Agenda Minutes


Archived Agendas & Minutes