## City of Franklin Tourism Commission (TC)

## Franklin City Hall — Hearing Room 9229 W. Loomis Road, Franklin, Wisconsin Wednesday, October 18, 2017 – 6:00 p.m.

## **MEETING MINUTES**

- I. Call to Order, Roll Call and Pledge of Allegiance: The meeting of the Franklin Tourism Commission (TC) was called to order at 6:00 PM by Mr. Hertzberg serving as the Chair Pro tem. Commissioners present were Grass, Marefka, Schaefer, Schemetzler and Wylie. Also present was Economic Development Director, Aaron Hertzberg.
- II. Citizen Comment Period: The Floor was open to citizen comment at 6:02 and closed at 6:02.
- III. Consideration of Minutes from the September 27, 2017 meeting: Motion made (Shermetzler) and seconded (Grass) to approve the minutes. Motion carried: 5 ayes, 0 noes.
- IV. Announcements relating to tourism (No action to be taken): Introduction of Commission members. Discussion among members. No action taken.
- V. Business Matters (Action may be taken as determined by the TC)
  - A. Review and address any questions related to the rules and procedures of the Tourism Commission: Discussion among members. No action taken.
  - B. Consideration of the proposed 2018 Tourism Commission Budget: Discussion among members. Motion carried: 5 ayes, 0 noes.
  - C. Discussion of Franklin Hotel Market & Demand Drivers (Commissioner Schaefer): Discussion among members. No action taken.
  - D. Tourism Commission Brainstorming Session (Commissioner Schermetzler): Discussion occurred among members. Commissioner Marefka agreed to gather information from the South Suburban Chamber of Commerce. Commissioner Schermetzler agreed to gather information from Visit Milwaukee. Commissioner Schaefer agreed to gather information regarding resources related to tourism. Mr. Hertzberg agreed to gather information from the Gateway to Milwaukee. All will report back their findings to the Commission. No action taken.
  - E. Election of a Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary: Discussion occurred among members.
    - Chair: Motion made (Marefka) and seconded (Wylie) to elect Schermetzler Chair of the Tourism Commission. Motion carried: 4 ayes, 0 noes, 1 abstention.
    - Vice-Chair: Motion made (Schermetzler) and seconded (Grass) to elect Marefka Vice-Chair of the Tourism Commission. Motion carried: 5 ayes, 0 noes.

- Secretary: Motion made (Grass) and seconded (Marefka) to elect Wylie Secretary of the Tourism Commission. Motion carried: 4 ayes, 0 noes, 1 abstention.
- VI. Next Meeting Date: Members agreed to move the next meeting to November 29, 2017.
- VII. Adjournment: A motion was made (Schaefer) and seconded (Wylie) to adjourn the meeting at 7:57 PM. Motion approved: Motion approved: 5 ayes, 0 noes.