

Minutes of the Meeting of the Tourism Commission Lower Level Conference Room, 9229 W. Loomis Road, Franklin, Wisconsin March 4, 2021 – 6:00 p.m.

Members Present		Others Present
Shaun Marefka (Chair)	х	Barbara Wesener- Ad Hoc Member
Lance Schaefer (Vice Chair)	х	
Vacancy		
Mark Wylie (Secretary / Treasurer)	х	
Vacancy		

- I. The meeting of the Tourism Commission was called to order by Vice Chair Marefka at 6:01 p.m.
- II. The commission introduced themselves to new member Ed Holpfer..
- III. The floor was opened for citizen comment at 6:06 p.m and closed at 6:06 p.m.
- IV. Wylie moved, supported by Schaefer, to approve the minutes from the January 20th, 2021 meeting. Motion carried with abstention from Hopfler.
- V. Wylie moved, supported by Schaefer, to approve the Naming Rights Agreement with technical corrections as needed by Quarles & Brady or city staff. Motion carried.
- VI. The Commission held officer elections with the following motions made and carried:
 - a. Wylie moved, supported by Schaefer, to appoint Marefka as Chair.
 - b. Wylie moved, supported by Holpfer, to appoint Schaefer as Vice Chair.
 - c. Marefka moved, supported by Schaefer, to reappoint Wylie as Secretary/Treasurer.
- VII.Berg provided an update on banners. Berg will take a contract and resolution for approval to Common Council as a final step before Olympus installs the banner.
- VIII. Wylie moved, supported by Holpfer, to transfer \$110,000 in wayfinding signs expenditures from the 2020 Advertising general ledger account to the Capital Outlay general ledger account. Motion carried.
- IX. Wylie moved, supported by Schaefer, to approve vouchers for \$24,850 from Michael's Signs for the electronic city sign; Destinations Wisconsin for \$1,000 for membership renewal; THIEL Brand Design for banner graphics design for \$375.00; Quarles & Brady for legal fees of \$5,206.45. Motion carried with an abstention from Hopfler.
- X. The next regular meeting of the Tourism Commission will be March 17, 2021 at 6:00 p.m.
- XI. Wylie moved, supported by Schaefer, to adjourn the meeting at 7:10 p.m.