APPROVED SEPTEMBER 7, 2021

CITY OF FRANKLIN SPECIAL COMMON COUNCIL MEETING AUGUST 25, 2021 MINUTES

ROLL CALL

I. The special meeting of the Common Council was held on May 28, 2020 and called to order at 6:30 p.m. by Mayor Steve Olson in the Franklin City Hall Hearing Room, 9229 W. Loomis Road, Franklin, Wisconsin. On roll call, the following were in attendance: Alderman Dan Mayer, Alderwoman Kristen Wilhelm, Alderwoman Shari Hanneman, Alderman Mike Barber, and Alderman John R. Nelson, and the First Aldermanic District remained vacant. Also present were Director of Administration Peggy Steeno, City Attorney Jesse A. Wesolowski, and City Clerk Sandra Wesolowski.

CITIZEN COMMENT

II. Citizen comment period was opened at 6:31 p.m. and closed at 6:33 p.m.

1ST DISTRICT ALDERPERSON APPLICANTS III.A. City Clerk Wesolowski drew names by lot for the order of presentations from First District Alderperson applicants who submitted letters of interest for appointment to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Alderman Mark Dandrea. Each applicant was allotted up to eight minutes, and the order was as follows: James R. Ziegenhagen, Edward H. Holpfer, Clarke W. Johnson, Scott E. Szalanski, and Katie Walczak.

The City Clerk then drew names by lot of the Mayor and Aldermen for the order of asking up to two questions, the same question for all applicants, with the order being Alderman Barber, Alderwoman Wilhelm, Alderwoman Hanneman, Alderman Nelson, Mayor Olson, and Alderman Mayer.

Upon completion of the presentations and question/answer process, the Aldermen voted on paper ballots as follows: Alderman Mayer voted for Clarke Johnson, Alderwoman Wilhelm voted for Katie Walczak, Alderwoman Hanneman voted for Edward Holpfer, Alderman Barber voted for Edward Holpfer, and Alderman Nelson voted for Clarke Johnson. Mayor Olson broke the tie by voting for Edward Holpfer.

OATH OF OFFICE

The Oath of Office was administered to Alderman Edward H. Holpfer by the City Clerk. Alderman Holpfer then took his seat as First District Alderman.

ADJOURNMENT

D. Alderman Nelson moved to adjourn the special meeting at 8:26 p.m. Seconded by Alderman Holpfer. All voted Aye; motion carried.