Parks Commission

The Parks Commission consists of 7 members, including 1 Alderman and 6 citizens, all appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Common Council.  The term of the Alderman member is 1 year, only while in the office of Alderman.  The citizen members are appointed for 3-year terms, excepting that the initial appointments provide for 2 members serving a 1-year term and 2 members serving a 2-year term.  The Parks Director provides technical and staff assistance to the Commission.

Powers and Duties: 

The Commission has such powers and duties as are provided by §27.08, 27.09 and 27.10, Wis. Stats., with such other powers and duties granted by statute or by the Common Council.

  • Appoints such agents and employees subject to approval of the Mayor and Common Council as may be necessary to carry out the functions of the Parks Commission.
  • Has charge and supervision of all City parks and recreation programs, subject to Mayor and Common Council supervision.
  • Make reports and recommendations, including budgetary items, to the Mayor and Common Council. 





Alderman John Nelson 1 Year/4-18-18
Philip Nickerson 3 Years/4-30-21
James Bartoszek 3 Years/4-30-19
Anthony Megna 3 Years/4-30-20
Joseph Musolf 3 Years/4-30-20
Mary Remington 3 Years/4-30-19
Vacancy 3 Years/4-30-18
Staff Support: Orrin Sumwalt, Planner II  








Meeting Date: 2nd Monday of the Month

Meeting Time: 6:30 p.m.

Meeting Location:
Hearing Room
Franklin City Hall
9229 W. Loomis Road

Please direct agenda questions to:
Planning Department


2018 Meeting Dates 

January 8 Agenda Minutes
February 12 Agenda Minutes
March 12 Agenda Minutes
April 9 Agenda Minutes
May 14 Agenda Minutes
June 11 Agenda Minutes
July 9 Agenda Minutes
August 13 Agenda Minutes
September 10 Agenda Minutes
October 8 Agenda Minutes
November 12 Agenda Minutes
December 10 Agenda Minutes


Archived Agendas & Minutes