City of Franklin Environmental Commission Meeting December 6, 2023 Minutes

Approved January 24, 2024

I. Call to Order and Roll Call

Chair Linda Horn called the December 6, 2023 regular Environmental Commission meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers at Franklin City Hall, 9229 West Loomis Road, Franklin, Wisconsin.

Present were Chair Linda Horn, Alderman Jason Craig and Commissioners Sudarshan Sharma and Amy Serafin. Also present was Associate Planner Marion Ecks.

II. Citizen Comment

The Citizen Comment period opened at 7:01 pm and closed at 7:01 pm. No citizens present.

III. Approval of Minutes –

Regular Meeting of July 26, 2023

Commissioner Serafin moved and Alderman Craig seconded a motion to approve. On voice vote, all voted 'aye'; motion carried (4-0-0).

IV. Unfinished Business

A. Review of articles for the City of Franklin Newsletter.

General discussion. An article regarding salt is planned for the next newsletter. A group of articles submitted in advance for scheduled release. Reminder of hazard waste. Discussion only, no action taken.

B. Common Council referral of "No Mow May" to the Environmental Commission for research and recommendation back to Common Council.

Commissioner Serafin moved and Commissioner Sharma seconded a motion to forward MMSD item to Common Council for "No Mow May" as informational. On voice vote, all voted 'aye'; motion carried (4-0-0).

C. Update on Environmental Commission participation in City of Franklin Unified Development Ordinance (UDO) Task Force, to provide assistance in revisions to the Natural Resource Protection Standards and other elements of the City of Franklin UDO.

Discussion of update expanded scope. Alderman Craig moved and Commissioner Sharma seconded a motion to add Commissioner Amy Serafin to Task Force. On voice vote, all voted 'aye'; motion carried (4-0-0).

V. New Business

A. Election of Vice-chairperson and Chairperson's appointment of the Secretary.

Alderman Craig moved and Commissioner Sharma seconded a motion to appoint Commissioner Serafin as Vice Chair and Commissioner Sharma as Secretary. On voice vote, all voted 'aye'; motion carried (4-0-0).

B. Discussion of creation of a combined Parks and Environmental Commission Discussion only, no action taken.

VI. Schedule Next Meeting

A. January 24, 2024

VII. Adjournment

Alderman Craig moved and Commissioner Serafin seconded to adjourn the Environmental Commission meeting of December 6, 2023 at 7:35 p.m. On voice vote, all voted 'aye'; motion carried (4-0-0).